MARKET

The Best Ager market is booming. But why?

As a mail retailer of high-quality fashion, we are bang on trend. Mail order is booming. This was confirmed by the results of the Infratest study “Interactive Retail in Germany 2015”, commissioned by the German E-Commerce and Distance Selling Trade Association (bvh). The development of interactive retail, which includes catalogue retail as well as e-commerce, was the subject of the study. Taken together, both channels had turnover of 52.37 billion euros in 2015. That is 11.7 percent of the retail sector as a whole. Fashion, with 12.12 billion euros, generated the biggest share of the total turnover – numbers that speak for themselves. 

Customer approach on more than one channel works best: Multichannel companies grew by 27% in 2015 (2014: 11,309 million euros; 2015: 13,976 million euros). Especially clothes and furniture were purchased via multichannel commerce. (Source: German E-Commerce and Distance Selling Trade Association (bvh): Interactive Retail in Germany 2015).

+

GROWING TARGET GROUP

THE NUMBER OF BEST AGERS IS GROWING RAPIDLY

In Germany in recent years, the number of Best Agers increased to 16.7 million, and this number continues to grow. By the year 2030, some 22.3 million people will be 65 or older. The reason for this development? The vast number of people that were born in the years after World War II – the baby boom generation – are now reaching retirement age. At the same time, the size of the overall population is shrinking. The result is that, in 20 years’ time, more than every third person in Germany will be a Best Ager. Increased life expectancy is enforcing the trend: The life expectancy of women today is 82.5 years, by 2060 it is likely to be 91 years.

With our fashions, we’ve firmly established ourselves today on tomorrow’s market. But Best Agers are exciting customers for us for another reason as well: They trust the brands they’ve already chosen and are extremely loyal. Through our quality and service, we have won over a target group that we can continue to build on – both today and in the future.

+

BIGGER PURCHASING POWER

BEST AGERS ENJOY SHOPPING AND ARE PLENTIFUL CONSUMERS

Best Agers currently have an average net household income of 2,200 euros a month. For women living alone, that figure is 1,600 euros, according to a study by the Allensbach Institute. The 50-plus generation only saves 3 to 4 percent of that income; they spend the rest. That makes Best Agers twice as eager to consume than the younger generations. On average, German households save 11 percent of their income. It’s no surprise then, that in Germany, every third euro is spent by a senior citizen. By the year 2050, our target group will be contributing 41 percent to total expenditure – the equivalent of 386 billion euros. In short, independently of fashion and trends, the purchasing power of Best Agers will increase year for year from the above-average level today.

Germany’s demographic change is a fact to which the lifestyle branch must adapt. We have already done so. The best evidence of that is our expansive portfolio covering all the market segments.

+

BEST AGER IN THE SPOTLIGHT

SILVER MODELS ARE IN HIGH DEMAND

Public awareness is being trained more and more on our target group. At fashion shows, too, models from the 45-plus generation are increasingly in demand. Most recently, Carmen Dell’Orefice created a sensation at New York Fashion Week. The 84-year-old enchanted the audience with her glamorous appearance on the catwalk. Luxury labels such as Rolex and Jean Paul Gaultier are now competing for her attention. 60’s model Twiggy is also back in business; since 2016 she is the brand ambassador of L'Oréal.  The success that these two models and others like them are enjoying shows just how big the current demand is for so-called “silver models”.

The fact that more and more lifestyle labels are focusing on Best Agers shows that they’ve understood the trend towards demographic change. Those who don’t cater to the 50-plus generation are ignoring the enormous potential of a target group that will only become more significant with time. But there’s another reason as well. In times when faces and bodies can be retouched to perfection with the help of a computer, women whose faces and bodies reflect their life experiences and their personalities are suddenly interesting again. Strong characters have to mature – in real life, not on a computer monitor. Our customers are the best examples of that.

MARKT

Der Best-Ager-Markt boomt. Aber warum ist das so?

Als Versender hochwertiger Mode liegen wir voll im Trend. Denn der Versandhandel boomt. Das beweisen die Ergebnisse der Infratest-Studie „Interaktiver Handel in Deutschland 2015” im Auftrag des Bundesverbands des deutschen Versandhandels e.V. (bvh). Untersucht wurde die Entwicklung des interaktiven Handels, der sowohl Kataloghandel als auch E-Commerce umfasst. Beide Kanäle gemeinsam erzielten im Jahr 2015 einen Gesamtumsatz von 52,37 Milliarden Euro. Das sind 11,7 Prozent vom gesamten Einzelhandel. Den mit Abstand größten Anteil am Gesamtumsatz verzeichnete die Mode mit 12,12 Milliarden Euro: Zahlen, die für sich sprechen. 

Die Ansprache des Kunden über mehr als nur einen Kanal wirkt und so verzeichneten Multichannelversender mit einem Plus von 27% (2014: 11.309 Mio. Euro; 2015: 13.976 Mio. Euro) das größte Wachstum. Insbesondere Bekleidung und Möbel wurden von Verbrauchern bevorzugt über diesen Versendertyp gekauft. (Quelle: Bundesverband des deutschen Versandhandels e.V.: Interaktiver Handel in Deutschland 2015)

+

WACHSENDE ZIELGRUPPE

DIE ZAHL DER BEST AGER STEIGT
RAPIDE AN

Die Zahl der Best Ager ist in den vergangenen Jahren deutschlandweit auf 16,7 Millionen gestiegen – und sie nimmt immer weiter zu: Bis zum Jahr 2030 werden 22,3 Millionen Menschen älter als 65 Jahre sein. Der Grund für diese Entwicklung: Die geburtenstarken Jahrgänge der in den Nachkriegsjahren geborenen Menschen, die sogenannten Babyboomer, erreichen das Rentenalter. Zeitgleich schrumpft die Gesamtbevölkerung, was dazu führt, dass in 20 Jahren mehr als jeder Dritte zu den Best Agern gehören wird. Die steigende Lebenserwartung verstärkt diesen Trend: Beträgt sie heute bei Frauen im Schnitt 82,5 Jahre, so wird sie bis 2060 auf 91 Jahre anwachsen.

Somit haben wir uns mit unserer Mode schon heute auf dem Markt von morgen fest etabliert. Spannend sind Best Ager für uns aber noch aus einem zweiten Grund: Sie haben Vertrauen zu den Marken, für die sie sich einmal entschieden haben, und sind ihnen daher extrem treu. Durch unsere Qualität und unseren Service haben wir eine Zielgruppe von uns überzeugt, auf die wir bauen können – heute und in Zukunft. 

+

GRÖßERE KAUFKRAFT

BEST AGER KAUFEN GERNE UND VIEL

Best Ager verfügen heute durchschnittlich über ein Haushaltsnettoeinkommen von 2.200 Euro. Bei alleinlebenden Frauen sind es 1.600 Euro. Das geht aus einer Studie des Instituts für Demoskopie in Allensbach hervor. Nur drei bis vier Prozent des Geldes legt die Generation 50plus zurück, der Rest wird ausgegeben. Damit sind Best Ager mehr als doppelt so kauffreudig wie jüngere Zielgruppen. Denn im Schnitt sparen deutsche Haushalte rund elf Prozent des Einkommens. Kein Wunder also, dass in Deutschland jeder dritte Euro von Senioren ausgegeben wird. Bis zum Jahr 2050 wird unsere Zielgruppe sogar 41 Prozent zu den Gesamtausgaben beitragen – insgesamt 386 Milliarden Euro. Kurz: Unabhängig von Moden und Trends wächst die schon heute überdurchschnittliche Kaufkraft der Best Ager Jahr für Jahr weiter.

Der demografische Wandel ist eine Tatsache. Die Lifestyle-Branche wird darauf reagieren müssen. Wir haben das schon getan. Bester Beweis: unser breites Portfolio, mit dem wir alle Marktsegmente abdecken.

+

BEST AGER IM RAMPENLICHT

SILVER MODELS SIND
SCHWER GEFRAGT

Die öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit richtet sich mehr und mehr auf unsere Zielgruppe. Auch bei Modenschauen sind zunehmend Models der Generation 45plus gefragt. So sorgte zuletzt Carmen Dell’Orefice bei der New York Fashion Week für Aufsehen. Mit 84 Jahren bezauberte sie das Publikum mit ihrem glamourösen Catwalk-Auftritt. Luxuslabels wie Rolex und Jean Paul Gaultier reißen sich um sie. Ebenfalls wieder gut im Geschäft ist das 60er-Jahre-Model Twiggy, die seit 2015 das Werbegesicht von L’Oréal ist. Der Erfolg der beiden Models und ihrer Kolleginnen im gleichen Alter beweist, wie groß die Sehnsucht nach sogenannten „Silver Models” inzwischen ist.

Dass immer mehr Lifestyle-Labels neuerdings auf Best Ager setzen, leuchtet ein: Erstens lässt sich der Trend mit dem demografischen Wandel erklären. Wer sich mit seinen Botschaften nicht auf die Generation 45plus zubewegt, der ignoriert das enorme Potenzial einer Zielgruppe, die immer bedeutender wird. Es gibt aber noch einen zweiten Grund: In Zeiten, in denen Gesichter und Körper am Computer bis zur Perfektion retuschiert werden können, sind plötzlich wieder Frauen interessant, die uns durch Lebenserfahrung und Persönlichkeit begeistern. Und starke Charaktere müssen reifen – im wahren Leben und nicht auf dem Computermonitor. Unsere Kundinnen sind dafür das beste Beispiel.